think digital
European Telecommunications Network Operators' Association


| Teo Lt

Digital TV broadcasting frequencies will be changed in Lithuania this year

With the further development of digital television in Lithuania, television broadcasting frequencies will be changed in many regions of the country this year. In late February and March, frequencies will be changed in the West, North-East of Lithuania and South-West, and in June – in the rest of Lithuania.

Digital terrestrial television frequencies will be changed in order to allow more efficient use of frequencies that became available after the analogue terrestrial TV shutdown in Lithuania at the end of last year. The change of frequencies has been provided for in the digital television development plan approved by the Communications Regulatory Authority (CRA), according to which the following companies, each of which operates its own two transmitter networks, are obligated to implement this: the Lithuanian Radio and Television Centre and TEO.

The change of digital television frequencies in different regions of Lithuania will affect both the users of free digital terrestrial television channels and those of the digital terrestrial television (DVB-T) service Digital GALA, provided by TEO.

After the change of frequencies, users will have to re-search channels in their TV set-top boxes or TVs with integrated set-top boxes. Without having done this, part of all of the channels broadcasted by means of digital terrestrial television will not be available for watching.

In the nearest future, the frequencies of the following transmitters will be changed:
- 26 February – in Marijampol?;
- 6 March – in Šiauliai (Bubiai), Naujoji Akmen? and Joniškis;
- 21 March – in Ignalina and Visaginas;
- 26 March – in Klaip?da (Giruliai), Laukuva, Mažeikiai, Plung?, Skuodas, Taurag? and Telšiai.

The schedule for the change of frequencies in the rest of Lithuania will be determined in May.

For more information on the change of digital terrestrial television frequencies, please call the Communication Regulatory Authority’s toll-free phone number 8 800 20030.

For more information, please contact:
Antanas Bubnelis, Director of Corporate Communication Unit of TEO LT, AB
Tel. (8 5) 236 7537, mob. tel. 8 615 83 854, e-mail:

Members & Observers - View companies map

  • A1 Telekom Austria Group
  • Albtelecom
  • Altice Portugal
  • BH Telecom
  • BT
  • CYTA (Cyprus Telecommunications Authority)
  • Deutsche Telekom AG
  • Eir
  • Elisa Communications Corporation
  • GO Plc (Malta)
  • Hrvatski Telekom
  • Koninklijke KPN
  • Magyar Telekom
  • Makedonski Telekom
  • Orange
  • Orange Polska
  • OTE
  • POST Group
  • Proximus
  • Síminn (Iceland Telecom Ltd.)
  • Slovak Telekom
  • Swisscom
  • TDC
  • TDF
  • Telecom Italia
  • Telefónica
  • Telekom Slovenije
  • Telenor
  • Telia Company
  • Vivacom
  • AT&T
  • Cisco
  • Ericsson
  • Huawei
  • Nokia
  • Prysmian Group
  • Qualcomm Europe Inc.
  • Verizon

ETNO aisbl - Boulevard du Régent 43-44 - 1000 Brussels - Belgium

Phone: +32(0) 2 219 32 42 -