think digital
European Telecommunications Network Operators' Association



Press release: ITU elects new Chairman and holds Plenipot in South Korea

Brussels, 23 October 2014 – Today, during the 19th Plenipotentiary Conference (Busan, South Korea), ITU, the International Telecommunications Union, elected Houlin Zhao of China as its next Secretary-General. ETNO, representing Europe’s leading telecom operators, looks forward to working and collaborating with the new ITU leadership and to facilitating its mission of connecting all the world's people and bringing the benefits of modern communication technologies to society in an efficient, safe, easy and affordable manner.

ETNO Chairman Luigi Gambardella said: “We acknowledge the hard work of Hamadoun Touré and praise the results he achieved during his mandate and we are looking forward to collaborating with the new Chairman, Houlin Zhao. ITU is an important institution that fosters debate and coordinates action to bridge the digital divide”.

ETNO is attending the ITU Plenipot as a long-standing ITU sector member and has co-ordinated its input through the CEPT (European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations), which supports the European position. 

Members & Observers - View companies map

  • A1 Telekom Austria Group
  • Albtelecom
  • Altice Portugal
  • BH Telecom
  • BT
  • CYTA (Cyprus Telecommunications Authority)
  • Deutsche Telekom AG
  • Eir
  • Elisa Communications Corporation
  • GO Plc (Malta)
  • Hrvatski Telekom
  • Koninklijke KPN
  • Magyar Telekom
  • Makedonski Telekom
  • Orange
  • Orange Polska
  • OTE
  • POST Group
  • Proximus
  • Síminn (Iceland Telecom Ltd.)
  • Slovak Telekom
  • Swisscom
  • TDC
  • TDF
  • Telecom Italia
  • Telefónica
  • Telekom Slovenije
  • Telenor
  • Telia Company
  • Vivacom
  • AT&T
  • Cisco
  • Ericsson
  • Huawei
  • Nokia
  • Prysmian Group
  • Qualcomm Europe Inc.
  • Verizon

ETNO aisbl - Boulevard du Régent 43-44 - 1000 Brussels - Belgium

Phone: +32(0) 2 219 32 42 -