think digital
European Telecommunications Network Operators' Association



ETNO confirms Board Chair, elects new Board Members and new Observer

ETNO confirms Proximus’ Steven Tas as Executive Board Chair, elects new Executive Board Member Vivacom & welcomes Qualcomm as new Observer Member

Brussels, 3 November 2016 – ETNO, the Association representing Europe’s leading providers of digital communications and services, has today held its 52nd General Assembly.
The Assembly, hosted by the leading Belgian operator Proximus, has gathered the representatives of ETNO’s 34 members and 7 observers – who include both telecom operators and vendors from Europe and beyond.
Steven Tas, Director Regulatory at Proximus, was re-elected as Chairman of the Executive Board for the 3rd year. The ETNO Executive Board, which is the body defining the strategic direction of the Association, will also welcome a new member. Janet Zaharieva, Chief Regulatory Advisor at Vivacom (Bulgaria), will join as from January 1st, 2017.
The General Assembly also approved the appointment of Qualcomm – a world leader in wireless technologies – as new Observer Member of ETNO. Qualcomm will join on January 1st, 2017.
Lise Fuhr, Director General of ETNO, said: “Today’s decisions strengthens our Association. A stronger ETNO means a stronger voice advocating for innovation and broadband roll-out. With  Bulgaria's Vivacom becoming new Board Member, we will further strenghten the voice of Eastern European countries as a crucial partner in the Digital Single Market. At the same time, as Europe steps up efforts to launch 5G, we are excited to welcome Qualcomm among our Observer Members”.

Members & Observers - View companies map

  • A1 Telekom Austria Group
  • Albtelecom
  • Altice Portugal
  • BH Telecom
  • BT
  • CYTA (Cyprus Telecommunications Authority)
  • Deutsche Telekom AG
  • Eir
  • Elisa Communications Corporation
  • GO Plc (Malta)
  • Hrvatski Telekom
  • Koninklijke KPN
  • Magyar Telekom
  • Makedonski Telekom
  • Orange
  • Orange Polska
  • OTE
  • POST Group
  • Proximus
  • Síminn (Iceland Telecom Ltd.)
  • Slovak Telekom
  • Swisscom
  • TDC
  • TDF
  • Telecom Italia
  • Telefónica
  • Telekom Slovenije
  • Telenor
  • Telia Company
  • Vivacom
  • AT&T
  • Cisco
  • Ericsson
  • Huawei
  • Nokia
  • Prysmian Group
  • Qualcomm Europe Inc.
  • Verizon

ETNO aisbl - Boulevard du Régent 43-44 - 1000 Brussels - Belgium

Phone: +32(0) 2 219 32 42 -